A person is required to obtain a valid hunting license prior to hinting wild birds or wild animals. All applicants for an adult firearms
hunting license must show proof of having previously held an adult license to hunt with firearms or having successfully completed an
approved hunter safety course in this State or any other State or Province of Canada since 1976.
9. OTHER LICENSES (Obtained at the Augusta office)
HIDE DEALERS LICENSE(Valid from July 1 to June 30):
Any person who commercially buys, sells or barters any raw, untanned wild animal hide or head is
required to have a hide dealer's license. A license is also required when assisting another person in this activity, except that an
employee of a licensed hide dealer may, without a license, assist in this activity only at the dealer's fixed place of business.
(NOTE: This license is not required in order for a person to sell the head, hide, antlers and feet of a deer and moose; head, hide, teeth, gall bladder and claws of any bear or any fur bearing animal which he had legally taken).
SEASONAL HIDE DEALERS LICENSE (Valid from October 1 to December 31):
The Commissioner may issue a special hide dealer's license to any person who maintains a place of business for the butchering of wild
animals within this States. The license permits a holder commercially to sell or barter the heads or untanned hides of deer or moose
that are butchered in the license holder's place of business.
TAXIDERMIST LICENSE (Valid from July 1 to June 30):
A taxidermist license will be issued to any applicant who is skilled in the art of taxidermy. This license allows a person to possess, at
his place of business, lawfully possessed fish or wildlife for the sole purpose of preparing and mounting them.
A falconry license, in addition to a regular hunting license, is required of persons who engage in falconry. Copies of the regulations
pertaining to this type of hunting are available upon request.
10. LICENSE EXPIRATION:
Unless otherwise specifically provided, all licenses and permits expire on December 31st of the calendar year for which they were
11. UNLAWFUL CONDUCT:
It is unlawful to obtain any license or permit through misstatement or misrepresentation or to possess any license or permit which has
been altered, mutilated or tampered with in any manner.
12. LICENSE REVOCATION:
In addition to any penalty which may be imposed by a court of law, the Commissioner may revoke the license of any person convicted
of violating the fish and wildlife laws.
Top Of Page
ICE FISHING LICENSE INFORMATION
No resident of this state, 16 years of age or older, or nonresident, 12 years of age or older, may fish through the ice in inland waters or transport fish taken from inland waters without first obtaining a valid Maine fishing license. Maine Residents may obtain fishing licenses from any resident license agent. Nonresidents may obtain fishing licenses - in person or by mail - from the IF&W Department Office in Augusta or from any of the numerous nonresident license agents throughout the State.
Unless otherwise specifically provided, all fishing licenses expire on December 31 of the calendar year for which they were issued.
FREE FISHING LICENSE PROVISIONS:
A free fishing license will be issued, upon application, to the following:
1) Any Maine resident who is blind:
A duplicate license will be issued, upon payment of $2.00 to any person who has accidentally lost or destroyed his or her original fishing license.
2) Any Maine resident who is over 70 years of age (available from Town Clerk);
3) Any Maine Indian who is a member of the Passamaquoddy, Penobscot, Maliseet or Micmac Tribe (must obtain licenses from their respective tribal headquarters);
4) Any Maine resident who is a war veteran, has a service connected disability of 100% or has served in a combat zone and has a service connected disability of 70% or more;
5) Any Maine resident (or nonresident, if reciprocal privileges exist in the home state of the nonresident) who is suffering from the loss, or loss of use, of both lower extremities;
Any mentally retarded person (as defined in Title 20-A).
(These free licenses may be obtained at the Department Office in Augusta.)
Residents must obtain duplicate licenses from the resident agent who issued the original license or from the IF&W Office in Augusta.
Nonresidents must obtain duplicate licenses from the IF&W Office in Augusta or at any of the Warden Service offices at the Regional Headquarters.
Top Of Page
Other Hunting Links
General Hunting Information -
General Hunting Information
General Hunting Provisions -
General Hunting Provisions
General Trapping Provisions -
General Trapping Provisions
Experience the Thrill of hunting Maine's White Tail Deer, Moose and Bear. Find out what everyone else knows
about the wilds of Maine.
Hunting and Trapping License Fees -
Hunting and Trapping License Fees
Hunting Seasons -
Laws Pertaining To Licenses & Permits -
Laws Pertaining To Licenses & Permits
Moose Hunting in Northern Maine -
Laws pertaining to Moose Hunting
Trapping Seasons -